Mayday Pain Project Logo

New and Noteworthy from the fellowship

After 10 successful years, the Fellowship has ended and we are no longer accepting applications for this program. The Mayday Fund continues to be dedicated to reducing human suffering by supporting research grants and opportunities to educate the public about pain and pain management. For more information, please visit

2014-2015 Mayday Fellows
Front row, left to right: Jeff Mogil, PhD; Marsha Campbell-Yeo, PhD, NNP-BC, RN;
Deirdre Logan, PhD
Back row, left to right: Sean Mackey, MD, PhD; Stephen Ziegler, PhD, JD;
Meredith Rockeymoore Brooks, MD, MPH

The Mayday Fund is pleased to announce the selection of the 2014-2015 Mayday Fellows. This year’s Fellows include:

  • Meredith Rockeymoore Brooks, MD, MPH, Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative & Pain Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine
  • Marsha Campbell-Yeo, PhD, NNP-BC, RN, Assistant Professor and Clinician Scientist, School of Nursing, Departments of Pediatrics, Psychology and Neuroscience, Dalhousie University and IWK Health Centre
  • Deirdre Logan, PhD, Associate Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School and Director of Psychological Services for Pain Medicine, Boston Children’s Hospital
  • Sean Mackey, MD, PhD, Redlich Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine Chief, Division of Pain Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine
  • Jeffrey Mogil, PhD, E.P. Taylor Professor of Pain Studies and Canada Research Chair, McGill University
  • Stephen Ziegler, PhD, JD, Associate Professor, Department of Public Policy, Indiana University-Purdue University

For more information on their selection, please see the press release in the newsroom.

Watch this short video featuring Dr. Diane E. Meier, director of the Center to Advance Palliative Care, as an example of clear communication about health and medical issues.

The Mayday Fund supported the development of this video to help health care professionals understand the importance of good communication as well as excellent treatment when it comes to pain and palliative care.

Watch Dr. William Zempsky ('08-'09 Fellow) describe his experience and the impact of the Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship:

Click here to see more Fellows news.

This website last updated August 2014